Author Topic: .45 Colt Reloading Tricks!  (Read 17705 times)

Griff

.45 Colt Reloading Tricks!
« on: May 20, 2011, 10:35:23 AM »
1st there ain't any "trick" to it.  You just need to know and heed the basics.  There aren't any shortcuts.  What I'm going to give you here is the only shortcut I'm aware of; you should be able to load quality ammo without all the experimenting I've had to do.

My bonefides:  I've been shooting a 45Colt 1873 rifle in CAS for 24 years and some 13 years before that in a Colt SAA, I've experimented a lot and like to think I've learned a thing or two.

As Pecos Cylde has said in other threads on this same subject, the 45 Colt likes a nice crimp.  After reading of a number of folks troubles in doing a roll crimp and some of those folks extolling about how the Lee FCD is the only way to get a decent crimp (which is about as far from a truth as you'll ever find), I posted this tutorial on another forum.  Proper Rollcrimp Adjustment.  While I personally believe one doesn't NEED a LEE FCD, if you don't have either the patience or manual dexterity to adjust a roll crimp die properly, it might be your only option.